RSS

Texas Annual Temperature with Cyclical Components

07 Jan

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 7, 2012 in Climate

 

5 responses to “Texas Annual Temperature with Cyclical Components

  1. Robin

    January 25, 2012 at 5:34 am

    Where can the Fairbanks data be found, please? I would lie to have a look at them!

    Thanks, Robin

     
  2. Michael D Smith

    January 25, 2012 at 2:26 pm

    Oops, I forgot to post the URL when I did the analysis… I’ll try to find it later and post it, or I’ll just post the data I used. Couldn’t find it this morning…

     
    • Robin Edwards

      January 25, 2012 at 3:28 pm

      Thanks, Michael. I look forward to either the URL or the data.

      Greetings from Robin

       
  3. Michael D Smith

    January 25, 2012 at 7:54 pm

    Robin,

    I can’t find the original & don’t have time to look further… Here is a sheet with the raw data on it… You are seeing monthly data, using a MA13, of the field MNTEMP.

    http://naturalclimate.home.comcast.net/~naturalclimate/Fairbanks.xls

    I take that and model it with variables describing trend, sine amplitude and offset, and sometimes other factors if needed (like a sub-frequency), calculate the error from actual to model, square it, and change the variables to minimize the sum of squares error. Kind of a least-squares regression method of finding the factors for anything.

    That’ll teach me to paste the URL into the sheet… I spent over an hour looking. I think I got the original link from a post at Real-Science, sometime in January, but I can’t find it.

     
    • Robin

      January 26, 2012 at 5:30 pm

      Many thanks Michael. Too late now to do anything tonight, but I’ll try to get the .xls file. I am really most interested in unsmoothed data, since I regard any form of smoothing as some kind of attempt to disguise things! However, at the moment I don’t know what’s there.

      Will contact you again in due course.

      Cheers, Robin

       

Leave a Reply

 
